The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In a memo, the owner of a chain cheese stores located throughout the United States decides to discontinue stocking many of their varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses. Moreover, the owner decides to reduce expenses by limiting inventory and he assumes that it is the best way to improve profits in all of its stores. He also adds the result of a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicating that an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Furthermore, the argument is supported by the result of best five selling cheeses at their newest store which are domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. A closer analysis of the argument reveals that it is full of several logical fallacies.

Firstly, the arguer assumes that the stores in their chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses from many years. However, he fails to provide relevant data supporting the proportions of imported cheeses in comparison to domestic cheeses. It is likely that the ratios of imported cheeses are low in comparison to domestic cheeses. It is possible too that the imported cheeses are of low quality and fails to influence large number of customers.

Secondly, the arguer claims that the five best selling cheeses at their newest store are domestic cheddar cheeses. It is possible that the newest store has been opened in rural areas where it is hard to maintain the stock of imported cheese and it is continuously supplying with the domestic cheeses from Wisconsin. It is likely that the customers are unable to find imported cheese in rural areas and may get satisfies with the domestic cheeses.

Thirdly, the arguer presents the result of a survey done by Cheese of the World magazine and indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. However, the argument fails to provide any relevance regarding the survey where it is done and what percentage of people does it take into preferences? It is likely that the survey is done in rural areas and people do not have any ideas regarding the imported cheeses. It is possible that the people who participate in the survey really do not consume any domestic cheeses. It is also possible that the subscribers are not actually the part of survey. Moreover, the result of the survey may be variable according to the various location i.e. the people residing in the cities areas may have different taste and preferences regarding cheeses. They may have predilection for imported cheeses and apathy to the domestic cheeses. Furthermore, the authenticity of survey depends upon the company who has taken the survey and the people who participate in the survey i.e. Either it includes old age group or a younger group; people who has a very good taste of cheeses or in different to their taste.

Furthermore, the arguer decides to limit the inventory of imported cheeses in order to reduce expenses and ultimately focuses on the profit. It is likely that the margin in imported cheeses is higher whereas the domestic cheeses fix their amount with a limited margin. The argument fails to provide the predilection for domestic cheeses in all over the country as different groups of people have different taste for cheeses. Some people may have aptitude for imported cheeses whereas some have towards domestic cheeses. It is possible that the people in newest store location are from humble background and unable to afford the expensive imported cheeses. Therefore, the arguer makes a hasty recommendation regarding the stocking of imported cheeses in all of its store.

In conclusion, unless the argument does not consider any of the alternatives to increase the profit, the recommendation by the arguer sounds unreasonable and unconvincing. The argument should be supported with valid recommendations in the form of systematic formats in order to make argument valid by pointing out the decision made by owner to limit the stock of imported cheeses and concentrate on the domestic cheeses.