The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the observations of Fish Emporiums, the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores concludes that they should start placing their own advertisements in apparently popular magazine, Exotic Pets Monthly, with an aim of making profit and reverse the declining trend of their sales. However, the conclusion is based on several unwarranted assumptions, which, if true, might indicate that the conclusion holds water. However, as it stands now, the conclusion is based on three weak and seemingly dubious assumptions which greatly undermine the plausibility of the conclusion, unless retrofitted with proper supports.

First of all, the marketing director casually assumes that the case of Fish emporium, in which the firm was able to increase its profit, can be easily replicated in case of his own Top Dog Pet Stores. From what the memo indicates, the firms which the marketing director is presenting as an example apparently deal with fish and not the dogs, which makes the example even more irrelevant. There seems to be a huge doubt whether the plans and techiques adopted by a firm dealing with different kinds of pet would be applicable for the dog pet firms as well.

Moreover, the marketing director seems to assume that the increment of the sales in the Fish Emporium is entirely because of the advertisement factor. Maybe, the part of the towm recently saw a surge in people who wanted to pet the fish. Also, maybe the Fish Emporium was able to satisfy its costumer, which in turn, enhanced their sales further. For instance, it is possible for a different kind of business to flourish in the same town while others are coping with reduced sales and profit.

Finally, the marketing director assumes that the prospective customers of the Dog Pet Stores follow the Exotic Pets Monthly magazine and it will influence the sales. It is very likely that most of the people willing to buy a pet usually consult with their relatives or neighbors who have already had a pet. For instance, if a lady in a locality buys a nice looking puppy, the ladies in neighborhood are more likely to ask her for the information rather than follow the magazine to buy the pets or other accessories. So, on contrary to the assumption of the marketing director, peer contact might be more important factor than the advertisement in the magazine for the people to choose one particular store for their pets.

To conclude, the marketing director, desperate to increase his profit and sales, seemingly makes an irrelevant comparison with some Fish Emporiums and makes up his mind that the Top Dog Pet Stores should also focus on the advertisement. However, as evident by above mentioned reasons, his conclusion seems hardly plausible enough because of unsupported and seemingly dubious assumptions. He must provide additional pieces of evidence to make his conclusion credible by supporting his unwarranted assumptions.