The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Store, it is claimed that Top dog should start placing its ads in the Exotic Pets Monthly to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start earning a profit. This conclusion by the marketing director was based on the increase in sales of the Fish Emporium Store after they started advertising in the Exotic Pets Monthly five years ago. The argument seems valid at first, however, as we delve deeper into it, we find many flaws. To evaluate the argument, three questions need to be answered.

Are the trends from five years ago, still valid today? It is possible that in the past five years, the sales for the Fish Emporium stores went down too, after a temporary increase. It is also possible that in the past five years, the number of people who buy fish have declined, causing a drop in the sales. If any of the above scenarios is true, the argument is weakened.

Were the sales increased as a result of the adverstising? It might be possible that there was a sudden increase in the number of people who were interested in buying fish, leading to an increase in the sales. It is also possible that Exotic Pets Monthly was a local magazine and the stores in the Gulf City never advertised in it but still saw an even greater increase in sales. If the above scenarios are true, the arggument does not hold water.

Did the Fish Emporium only advertise in the Exotic Pets Monthly? It is possible that the Fish Emporium advertised on televsion and multiple magazines, which led to an increase in the sales. Perhaps, they also provided offers with other magazines. In such cases, the concusio of the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and provide more evidence, the argument can be strengthened.