The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leaders are responsible for the people. A leader takes care of those under him, guides them and does the best for them. The prompt suggests that the best way to prepare the young generation for leadership in any field is to incorporate in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. I agree with the prompt for three reasons.

A leader is responsible for carrying all its people. Any mistake made by those under him should be taken care of by him. The leader is responsible for bringing out the best in the people. If the leader has a sense of competition instilled in him, he might feel a sense of superiority, inhibiting the growth of others. For instance, a CEO of a company does not let his employees present their ideas and suggestion, which in some cases are better than his, due to the fear of competition and feeling a sense of inferiority. This shows us that in many cases compeition might bring forth the fear of inferiority in people. Instilling cooperation in leaders will help them take others forward along with him.

Compeition can often cause you to become apathetic. A person who is very competitive might cross all limits to achieve his goal. Leaders should be considerate and care for their employees. Take for example, a small business of five people, has a deadline for monday to present a tender. Four of its employees are sick due to covid and ask for a leave. Due to the sense of competition and fear that their competition might present a better tender, the leader forces his employees to work. A lot of times competition might lead people to lack compassion. With a sense of cooperation, the leader would have worked along with the employee to present a tender.

Competition can also lead the leader to focus on only one aspect of the issue and only do what he thinks is correct. Cooperation involves listening to others advice and working with them to create a better impact. For instance, the government wants to introduce a new law. The sense of competion might cause the Prime Minister to pass a law which is not favorable for the people, just for the sake of competiton from the opposition. If the Prime Minsiter was cooperative, he would have worked witht he opposition to keep in mind their issues, along with the people of his party to pass a law that is best for the people. Cooperation is beneficial for welfare of people under a leader.

However, in some cases competition is also important, it might help bring out the best in the leader. Altough, this is not the case for all leaders. It is important to instill a sense of cooperation rather than competition in the young generation to make them good leaders in any field.