Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today’s world, with the constant need to grow and be better, we need new inventions every day. There is a massive need for continuous scientific research and development in all fields, from technology to medicine. Today, technology is being used to do neurosurgeries. New phones, tablets, laptops are being released everyday, with improved performance every time. Science now has cures for diseases which were once thought to be uncurable. The issue states that the government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. I disagree with the author. In today’s time, research and development is a need, however, there should be restrictions on it.

The world now has a lot of nuclear weapons, after constant research and development. The bombs are getting smaller and smaller, and their impact bigger. This is a cause of concern, if used for the wrong purposes. The research if not done properly or if done by an amateur, it can cause huge loss of lives. If there are no restrictions placed on who can do the research, the important findings or the inventions might reach the wrong hands. This can have major repercussions. Government should place restrictions around what can be researched and by whom. For instance, if a scientist is working on creating a weapon and the government does not pose any restrictions on it, he might sell it to a neighbouring country, which might use it to harm the citizens.

Testing on animals is a common thing. This has a lot of impact on them and might even kill them. Medicines and makeup are being tested on animals, they are being kept as samples and various experiments are performed on them. With the increasing awareness on this, this has been fairly reduced. However, if the government doesn’t place any restrictions on scientists or companies for doing this, the practice will continue. A lot of medicines and makeup is being tested on animals like rats, monkeys which might cause permanent damage to their bodies. Consider for example, a new drug has to be released in the market and it might be capable of causing death. In such a case, the company will first have it tested on animals. The government should impose rules to protect these animals.

If the researches are not being monitored by the government, it might be also possible that people would spend too much money of unnecessary research. It is also possible that the research being done be very harmful for the society. It can be the root of a lot of new diseases. It could create toxins and fumes which are poisonous, which might affect the health of the ones working on it and the people around the research centre. These gases could even be cancerous. If the government doesn’t ensure that the research which is capable of harming the society is not done in an isolated area, it can lead to deaths and irreversible diseases. It could even leave people handicapped.

In some cases, although, there’s a need for limited or no restrictions on scientific research and development. In fields like medicine or creating algorithms to train models for machine learning or artificial intelligence. They make the lives better for humans. During the recent global pandemic, there was an immediate need for research and development to help with covid. Lots of lives were lost, but due to the research and development, scientists were able to find medicines that would work. This however is not true for all the scenarios.