Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Laws are created for the people, by the people. As we are moving forward, the type of problems faced by the society are changing. Laws and leagal systems are enforced to help solve the problems. The prompt suggests that many of the problems of the modern society can not be solved by laws and legal systems. I strongly agree witht he author for three reasons.

Every human has a different way of thinking, what might be one's "right", might be others 'wrong". People have different point of views, which often leads to creation of groups with similar mindsets. These opinions are usually contradictory. Enforcing a law or a legal system might help control an issue by ruling in the favor of one of the groups, making the other group rebel. By making a decision in favor of both groups, peace can be maintained for a short time. However, this does not solve the problem. For example, some people are against abortion, while others think it is a womans right. With the recent overturn in the ruling in the Untied States, states are now allowed to ban abortion. This has led to huge protests. However, those who abhor abortion are happy with the decision. The ruling has not solved the problem, it has made people who support abortion, fight against it. This example shows that it is very difficult to solve a lot of problems by passing laws as people have different mindsets.

Laws are usually made considering the welfare of citizens in their mind. It is however, not possible to keep everyone happy and make a decision in everyones favor, especially in countries with large population. Even the most thought out and considerate laws might upset some people. Take for instance, a law did not allow people from other parts of the country to buy land in Kashmir. This law was changed recently, allowing citizens from all across the country to buy lands and houses in Kashmir. Many people were afraid that this law, will take away the independence and the identity of Kashmir. Violent protests were carried out and internet was banned in the area for a very long time. This shows us that even the most thoguht out laws are not capable of solving the issues of the modern society.

Even if laws are passed to solve the problems, people usually manage to find a way around the laws. Hence, the laws end up having no effect on the soceity. For instance, adult content has been banned in India. People still manage to use virtual proxy networks and watch it. No matter what the law is, people manage to come up with a solution. Laws can be enforced, and they can reduce the problems but they are often but not able to solve the issue completely.

However,in some scenarios, passing a law can help solve a problem and maintain peace amongst people. Xonsider the example of the law enforced in Delhi, India to reduce pollution. Although, this is not the case for most problems. Most problems today can not be solved by laws and legal systems because of the eclectic opinions of the people.