The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year,

Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online

programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of

maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and

actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its

total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memo written by the President of Humana University, it has been suggested that the Humana Univeristy should start actively promoting online degree programs like those at Omni, to increase its total enrollment and resolve its budget issues. The President comes to this conclusion based on the increase in the enrollment of students at Omni university in online degree programs and the descrease in their expenditure. The argument seems valid at first, but as we look depper into it, we find many flaws. To comment on the reasonability of the argument, three questions need to be answered.

Are Omni and Hamuna uiversities comparable? It is possible that Omni university provides more degree options, which attracts more students to enroll with them. It is also possible that Omni univeristy is located in a region which has a large population and hence, more enrollment. It is also possible that Omni provides courses which can be easily studied online and require no physical classes. If any of the above scenarios stand true, the argument does not hold water.

Are the conditions of Hamuna university from three years ago still the same? It is possible that in the past three years, the quality of education has improved in the Hamuna univeristy and there has been a significant increase in the number of admissions. It might also be possible that Hamuna University only started three years ago and hence, did not have a lot of enrollments. In such a scenario, due to the large inital cost, there might also have been a budget deficit. If either of the above scenarios are true, the conclusion of the argument is significantly weakened.

Did the Omni University only see a growth in the number of enrollments because of their online courses? It is possible that a University in the one of the nearby small towns was closed. This might cause students from that area to enroll in online courses due to the long distance. It is also possible that the univeristy recently introduced the option of online lectures for their existing students. The students might have opted for the online lectures and enrolled in them. This would have no impact on the actual number of enrollments in the university. In these cases, the conclusion of the argument is not valid.

The argument as it stands, is severely flawed due to its reliance on the unstated assumptions. The argument can be strengthened if the Principal answers the above mentioned three questions and provides more information on the degrees offered by Omni Univeristy, the actual change in the number of enrollments in it and the current statistics of the Hamuna Unversity.