A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

On the basis of the study conducted on headaches suffered by residents of Mentia, it is suggested by health experts that the consumptions of salicylates helps reduce the number of headaches and their commercial use will further reduce the number of headaches in future. This has been concluded based on the correlation found between the decline in number of reported headaches and the increase in the commerical use of salicylates. The argument seems valid at first, but as we delve deeper into it, we find many flaws. To decide the validity of the prediction, three questions should be answered.

Were the residents of Metia consuming any other medicines? It is possible that due to the increased headaches, the residents of Mentia visited doctors who prescribed them different medicines. These medicines helped reduce the headaches. It is also possible that the food that food-processing companies started adding some other chemicals to the food as well, which is known to reduce headaches. The consumption of such food would have reduced the headaches suffered by the residents. If either of the above scenario stands true, the conclusion of the argument is weakened.

Was consumption of food containing preservatives the casue of reduced headaches? It might be posisble that the headaches were being caused by a chemical been released by the industry nearby. After it was shut down, the number of headaches reduced drastically. It might be have been at the same time that the food companies started adding salicylates. Beacuse of the increased headaches, it is also possible that the residents started shifting to other places. This would have led to less people being studied and hence a commensurate decline in the number of reported headaches. If the above sceanrios are true, the argument is considerably weakened.

Will the increased amount of salicylates in flavored food help reduce headaches? It could be possible that the increased amount of salicylates in the food items lead to an overdose, having adverse effects. It might also cause more headaches. The residents of Mentia might not prefer buying flavored food. If the residents do not consume an increased amount of salicylates, there will be no effect on the number of headaches suffered by them. In these cases, the argument does not hold water.

The argument as it stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The argument can be strengthened if the author is able to answer these three questions and provide more information of the possible cause of headaches, the safe amount of consumption of salicylates and the number of people studied throughout the years.