"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it has been suggested that the Super Screen should allocate a bigger share of its budget next year for advertising to reach the public. The director came to this conclusion based on the recent report from the marketing department which shows that fewer people attended the Super-Screen produced movies than any other year but the number of positive reviews increased. The argument seems valid at first but as we look deeper into it, we find many flaws. To commnent on the resonability of the argument, three questions need to be answered.

Are fewer people attending the Sun Screen produced movies due to lack of awareness? It is possible that the Super Screen only released one movie this year, leading to a drop in the overall number of people watching their movies. It is also possible that the Sun Screen reduced the number of theatres which show their movies, making them inaccessible to a lot of people and hence leading to a decrease in the number of viewers. If the above scenarios are true, the conclusion of the argument is not valid.

Are the comments accurate enough to decide the quality of the movies? It is possible that most of the people who watched the movie and did not like it, did not take out the time to write a review. It is also possible that most of the positive reviews were only about one film. It might also be true that a single user commented multiple times, leading to increase in the number of positive reviews. If any of the above scenarios hold true, the conlusion of the argument is significantly weakened.

Are the reviews not reaching people? It is possible that the reviews are already reaching people and they are aware of the quality of the movies but do not watch them due to the high prices charged by the theatres. It is also possible that the movies were released to the theatres where the ambience and seating arrangements are not good. If either of the above scenarios is true, the argument does not hold water.

The argument, as it stands, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on many unstated assumptions. It can be strengthened if the director answers the three questions and provides more information about the number of movies released, the reachability of the reviews (in the form of statistics) and the conditions of the theatres they are relased in.