In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People often say, curosity killed the cat. All humans are curious. They tend to delve deep into subjects that intrigue them. The prompt suggests that in any field of inquiry, a beginner has a higher chance of making important contributions than an expert. I mostly agree with the prompt for two reasons. I disagree with the prompt for one reason.

An amateur does not have a vast knowledge of the topic. When a beginner starts to learn about a new topic, he usually goes deep into all aspects of it. An expert already has the knowledge about the topic and he might forget a few things. When both of them come accross an issue, the beginner will tend to cover all aspects of it whereas an expert might try to tackle it based upon his field of expertise. As a person starts expertising in a field, he usually begins to start thinking about everything in the direction in which he does most of his work in.

For instance, a patient might be sufferring from anxiety and ADHD. A beginner will look into all the possible diseases taht the patient might have. However, an expert who only usually comes across anxiety, will not think much and only diagnose the patient with anxiety. Since it is different from what the expert usually sees, he might not be able to identify it easily. This example shows us that, a lot of times, an experts thinking might get limited which might hinder him from making important contributions. Whereas, an amateur will go into depths of the topic because of his lack of knowledge and possibly make an important contribution.

A beginner usually goes out of his way to work on issues. An expert often follows a certain procedure. Take for example, a recent kidnapping case in India. A crime enthusiast with no experience was able to help the police find the child before the expert did. The beginner posted out various pictures and information of the kidnapped child on social media and started search parties. The expert decided to follow a more private approach and started looking into the recent places the child had been before the incident. Due to beginners post, someone who had seen the child in a neighbors house, alerted the police and the child was safely taken back to his parents. The risk apetite of a begineer is often higher which allows him to make important contributions.

It is often said, you cannot learn everything until you actually try things out. As a person becomes an expert in a field, he starts working on things practically a lot. Instead of just gaining knowledge, he knows how to apply it. When people start working on things, they learn about information that is not mentioned in the books. There are also certain things that you only get to know once you actually start working hands on, on the issues. A beginner not having much experience, will not know of such things. This will prevent him from making important contributions. For instance, an expert working over the years with cancer patients is aware of the effect of medicines on them. However, a begineer most likely only has the theorotical knowledge of it. If a medicine shows some abberant behavior on the patients, the beginner might not recognize it. This shows us that in some scenarios, it is important to have expertise and hands on experience to make important contributions.

Hence, in some cases being an expert puts forth a greater chance of making an important contribution. This however, is not the case for most scenarios. Beginners having a larger risk apetite and the willingness to delve deep into topics, stand the chnace to make contributions important to the society.