The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The letter written to the editor for the West Lansburg News states that West Lansburg council should not allow roads to be built along the edge of the wetlands to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment. The author comes this conclusion on the basis of the decline in sea otters in a similar sanctury, Eastern Carpenteria after the repeal of their sanctury status in 1978. The argument seems valid at first, however, as we delve deeper into it we find many flaws. To evaluate the argument, further information is required. The author should answer these three questions.

Are Eastern Carpentaria and West Lansburg comaparable? It is possible that there was some other factor that caused the decline in the the population of sea otters. Pollution might have increased in the area, affecting the health of the sea otters, leading to their deaths ad causing a decline in their population. It is also possible that a road was never created around the edges of Eastern Carpentaria. They lost their sanctury status because of their negligence in taking care of the otters. They might not have been providing enough food or taking plently care of the sea otters, resulting in a decline in their population and revoking the sanctury status. If either of the above scenarios is true, the conclusion of the argument is weakened.

Is a situtation from 1978 still a valid basis to decide whether the road should be constructed or not? It is possible that two or three years ago, another similar sanctury had a road built around it's edges , which had no impact of the population of the animals. Perhaps, the conditions of the road and the materials used were quite different in 1978. Maybe, today the materials and silencing technology used have advanced significantly. They might not affect the tufted groundhogs at all. If the above scenarios stand true, the argument does not hold water.

Will the building of a road on the edges of the sanctury have any effect on the tufted groundhogs? It is possible that a road constructed around the edges does not have any affect on the groudhogs. The area of sanctury might be huge and no tufted groundhogs might meander around the edges, leaving them unimpacted by the construction of the road. It is also possible that consturction if the road leads more people to visit the sanctury and provide donations. This will help the sanctury to provide better care to the groundhogs and may even result in an increase in their number, having a positive effect on them. If the above cases are true, the argument is significantly weakened.

The argument as it stands, is flawed considerable because of its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions and provide more information ,the argumnt can be strengthened and evaluated.