The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Politicians and professionals are the most noticiable group of people in any country. The prompt claims that the greatness of a nation can not be accurately represented by the achievement of rulers, artists and scientists, but the overall welfare of general people portrays the true indication. I mostly agree with the claim, primarily due to two major reasons listed below. However, I do concede that in cases of already developed and great nations, these two factors might coincide.

First of all, for any nation, the true indication of its greatness can not be gauzed by the achievement of its rulers, artists, or scientists, because, usually, these people comprise of a very less percentage of the total population of the nation. Let's say, within 1% of the whole population. How can anyone predict the condition and well-being of the whole nation based on the observation of mere 1% of population? For instance, India is one of the rapidly growing nation with a lot of great scientists, well-known artists, and famous politicians. However, it is still one of the country where a vast amount of people are fighting against poverty and other social issues. So, probably, the number of scientists and famous politicians might not be the true indication of welfare of people in grassroot level. This is just an example of how such generalization can go wrong. There are multiple such cases around the world. So, the true indication of the welfare of any nation would be represented only by the observation of its people from grassroot leve, preferably the rural area.

moreover, a nation is represented not only by its urban area. For a nation to be considered great, it must be capable of ensuring all round well-being of the people in urban as well as rural area. In the claim made by the prompt, there is no consideration of diversity factor. The group of artists, scientists and politicians basically represent the urban life of a nation, leaving out a large chunk of rustic lifestyle. The people in rural areas are unperturbed by any peripheral issues. For example, most of the rural areas in the African countries do not even have arrangements of basic needs like food, shelter, education, etc. Still, many of those countries are not short of great politicians and world famous artists or professionals. For those countries to be considered great, it is essential to fulfill the basic needs of majority of people, if not for all and ensure that the prosperity covers the rural areas as well.

Admittedly, there could be a few exceptions like in case of scandinavian countries like Norway, Sweden, etc. who have mastered the art of promoting their scientist, artists, and politicians in international arena for great achievements, while also ensuring that the rural parts of the country get equal attention. They are the epitome of balanced and all round well-being.

To conclude, for any nation to be considered great, it is essential to consider the major factors related with its people. The well-being and happiness of the people exhibit a clear picture of how great the nation is, rather than the achievements of a few scientists, artists and politicians.