The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the application written for a small-business loan, the author concludes that the new jazz music club in Monroe will be greatly profitable. The author bases the conclusion on various premises, which if true, might indicate that the conclusion holds water. However, the author must provide answers to following three questions before the validity of the conclusion can be assessed further.

First of all, the author must answer the question- is the 100,000 number of people in the annual function of jazz music last summer so great that it is sufficient to establish the jazz music as popular genre in Monroe?. What if the last summer occupancy of the spectators was just an anamoly and the trend is unlikely to continue in coming years? For instance, there are lots of cases of popular artists doing concerts in small towns with remarkable success even

if the town is not exactly known for music loving people. Thus, the author must find the answer for the question regarding the availablity or occupancy of the audience in the festival, weather or not the trend is likely to follow.

Moreover, the author must confirm weather or not the well-known jazz musicians originating from Monroe currently reside within the city. The musicians usually have a nomadic lifestyle and they rarely get chance to stay in their home town even if they belong to that place. For instance, many Canadian actors and singer have permanently or temporarily migrated to United States during their career. Answer to this question would help the author to strengthen the conclusion of the argument.

Finally, the author must answer the question regarding the compliance of the nationwide survey in context of Monroe. What if the survey based on other larger cities is not applicable for the city of Monroe. What exactly is the proposition of local people in the survey? The exact data of how much the residents of the Monroe city spend per year on jazz entertainment is essential to strength the conclusion drawn by the author.

To conclude, the author may have made a valid point in the application, but, without the answers to above mentioned three questions, the plausibility of the conclusion will remain pretty bleak. Answers to these questions would greatly help to evaluate the

prediction.