Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Bureaucracy is a huge network of goverment officials that have the primary function of executing the administrative functions of the government. I mostly agree with the assertion made by the given prompt that the government officials should use their own thinking to carry our their functions rather than being influenced by the public demand and will, primarily because of two reasons enlisted below. However, I do concede that there can be a few exceptions because the primary function of the government officials is to serve the public.

First of all, The government officials assigned with a certain task should rely on their own judgement because they are the one who have the power and authority from the government to execute the particular task within proper protocols. The norms and rules defined in various documents are the main basis on which the tasks of the government officials rely on, and the officials are mostly well aware of those norms. For example, in the transport office that assigns the driving permits, there usually is a huge crowd of people to request the issuance of the permit even though they failed the driving test. However, it is only wise of the officials not to be affected by the public pressure and do as mentioned in the rules by denying the permit if the candidate failed the test. The proper judgement of the officials help to maintain the impartiality in operation. This is essential for sound executation of numerous governmental day to day functions.

Moreover, usually it is understood my many that the will or demand of the general public are sometimes driven by emotions and not necessarily be valid all the time. For instance, a person who just broke the traffic signal might argue that he/ she was in hurry to attend an important meeting. However, the traffic official in the site simply can not neglect the fact that the person just broke a signal and endangered the lives of other nearby people as well. On contrary, if the official becomes liberal and let the person go, that could establish a rather long lasting impression of unrequired flexibility and the people might exploit it in a long run. So, it is very essential for the responsible government officials to maintain their stance and act firm according to their judgment to ensure that the systematic rule.

Admittedly, there could be a few exceptions where the officials could be a bit flexible, albeit maintaining their integrity. For instance, the government officials in immigration can allow the violation of the queue to allow fast service to the elderly citizen or even allow him/ her to fast forward the process, upon request. There can be some other cases of these will or demand of people that can be served without violating the existing rules and norms.

To conclude, due to two major reasons described in above paragraphs, I mostly agree that the government officials should be firm and unyielding in their duty, without being influenced by the will or demand of public. However, they can be a bit flexible in a few of innocuous and genuine cases while remaining within their realm of veracity and integrity.