The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the given memo, the author makes a recommendation for daily use of nutritional suppliments that consist of fish oil with an assumption of reducing absenteeism and cold. The recommendation is based on several unwarranted premises, which, if true, might indicate that the recommendation holds water. However, as it stands now, the author must provide answers to following three questions before the plausibility of the recommendation be assessed.

First of all, what if the immunity of people nearby East Meria against cold is due to some other reasons rather than higher consumption of fish? Maybe, the climate in that particular region is pretty moderate and do not go through intense cold, which notoriously increase the cases of people catching cold. Also, the people in that reason could be immune to cold because of some kinds of special medicinal herbs only available in that reason. It can not be stated clearly unless the question regarding the direct relation of fish consumption and its medical benefits is answered. In absence of proper answer to this question, plausibility of the recommendation is highly weakened.

Moreover, could the reason given by student and employee for frequent absence be trusted? Maybe the people in that area are busy in some other seasonal works and involve themselves to complete those tasks, while presenting the cold as a reason for absence. The author must find answers regarding the true data of absence rather than trusting students and employee with their answers. For example, often in our school days, we tend to make some hypothetical medical situation in rainy days to avoid going to school. In reality, we just wanted a peaceful day at home sipping hot tea and watching movie.

Finally, how can the author be so sure of general people readily adopting the fish oil based nutritional suppliments to enhance their immunity against cold? Maybe those suppliments will turn out expensive compared to other options. Also, the general people might treat them as just another common over-the-counter medicine for cold and only buy them when they actually catch cold. For instance, here in Nepal, the polio drops were supposed to assist in reducing the polio infection rate in rural areas. However, people were very reluctant to go upto nearby booths to get the drops for their children. As a result, the polio infection rate is still high in Nepal. This indicates that the general public might not be easily convinced to use something new, irrespective of the benefits it brings along. Unless the author provide answer in this front, the recommendation might not effective enough.

To conclude, the author must provide proper answers for above mentioned three questions to enhance the credibility of the recommendation. In absence of proper answer, the recommendation falls flat with out proper support.