When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

The author concludes that if Stanley Park wants to increase its customers, it should provide a greater number of benches for seating. To prove his point the author has given an example of the Carlton Park, even though it is not so big in size compare to Stanley Park, but a greater number of people are visiting it as it has ample of seating. The argument lies on series of assumptions that are unpersuasive and illogical. This would be proved in the following essay:

Firstly, the author mentions that the popularity of Stanley Park has fallen and to support his claim he says that the number of cars in the parking lot only shows 50 per day. It could happen that more people, might be visiting the park and they might be using a public transport or taxis instead of a private vehicle. It could also happen that the many people are following car-pooling as a result a greater number of people are coming in one car. So, just by seeing decrement in the number of cars in the parking lot we cannot conclude that popularity of the park has decrease. The author could count the number of tickets being issued in one day at Stanley Park to count the number of people attending it.

Secondly, the author mentions the location of the Carlton Park which is in the heart of a business district. Whereas, there is no mention of the location of Stanley Park. It could happen that only the cooperate people visit the Carlton Park as it is in the business district and no family would be visiting it. It could also happen that cooperate people come to take break in this park for just five to ten minutes so the number has increase more than 150 during weekdays. Also, there is no mention of number of people visiting the park on weekend, so we cannot conclude that Carlton Park has gain more popularity than Stanley Park.

Thirdly, the author believes that as Carlton Park has a greater number of seatings compare to Stanley Park, so more people visit that park. It could happen that the Carlton Park besides having ample of seating, it is more appealing and calming compare to Stanley Park. It might also happen that it has water fountains, statues, playing area of children, and much more. This would lead people towards Carlton Park than Stanley Park. Unless, all these factors are cleared it would not be right to suggest that only due to ample of seating Carlton Park is more popular.

In conclusion, the author should check all these facts before coming to a final judgement of increasing the seating area in Stanley Park. Increasing the seating area would also increase the cost, so a proper cost analysis should be done. The author should conduct a survey in which it should ask questions like 'is there any need to increase seating in Stanley Park?’, ‘will people visit more to Stanley Park if seating is increase?' and if the majority is in the favor then only the necessary steps should be taken.