"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company has written in a memo that the public is unaware the good quality of the movie that is available in their production. So, in order to make their company more popular, he has asserted that they should allocate greater share of budgets for advertising. However, the author’s argument, as it stands currently, relies on three unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically reduced the persuasiveness of his argument.

To begin with, the director has assumed that the recent report of marketing department that compares the past year and other years to find out the people's attending is suitable to claim that the movies in their production are not reaching the people. However, this might not be the case: maybe the company was able to show huge number of movies on the super screen in the other years and last year, only a little amount of movies are screened for the people. There is no report on how many movies are shown in the report of comparison. So, without any evidence of it, the author’s argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the author has assumed that the advertising will increase the number of viewers, but they did not show the past advertising records. Maybe in the last year, they have advertised in a maximum length but still could not draw attention to the people. So, maybe the advertising can not solve their issue, maybe there are other reasons like, the price of the movie tickets are very high to buy. If any of these scenarios can be true, then the assertion of the author is rife with holes and assumptions.

Thirdly, the director of the company has assumed that there is no fault in their movies as the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased in the last year. But, he did not mention about the proportion of the positive reviews increased. Maybe in the other years, positive reviews are 550 out of 2000 but in the last year, the review is 60 out of 200. So, without knowing the other years’ percentages, it will be gullible to think that the positive reviews are increased in other years compared to past years. Also, the review of the viewer may be reaching out very well by the social network, but still, people are not interested to see movies on the super screen. Without knowing this evidence, the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can give three pieces of evidence stated above or perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it can be determined if the allocation of higher budgets to reaching the public through advertising is fruitful or not.