The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The great nation is a belief that every person desires to be in, but rarely knows what it represents. The statement implied that the well-being of a nation’s individuals is the main indicator to declare it a great country, not the triumph of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Although the welfare of people is highly essential for a nation, in my opinion, it cannot completely signify a great nation. Therefore, I think both of the attributes are necessary for a nation to be significant and in this essay, I will discuss my standing.

To begin with, a country cannot be in suitable shape if its people are suffering from severe things. Most people are achieving something nowadays but how can we know if they are truly content in their life. For example, Japan is the most developed country but 80% of people in it are suffering from depression. They are all known for being hardworking and punctual, and also, they have great rulers and scientists. Every day they are creating the most advanced devices and the whole world is watching them. Still, they are not happy and day by day the rate of suicide is increasing. To conclude, Japan has every achievement on its feet, but the people are not well. So, these successes are futile as the nation cannot be defined as perfect and prominent if it cannot secure the healthy being of citizens, not just physical but also mental health.

Secondly, If the country has healthy citizens but is not developing, then the vision of a great nation, in reality, is not working either in this case. For instance, think about an image where all people are having all kinds of facilities, like education, and health but not the comfort amenities, like mobile phones, and the internet. They are living a hundred years ago life and they have no complaints about it. The country has general citizens but no creation or purpose, no ruler, scientists, and artists. It can look perfect picture for now, but slowly it will become dull without having creativeness and will build conflict without having a leader. If there is no ambition, innovation, or passion, then it is just a living, which is very similar to robots or animals. But humans are the best species because of their thinking ability and way of life. The rulers are helping to establish peace and discipline in their county, artists are offering serenity in people’s minds and scientists are producing unique things that make our life comfortable. So, without these characters playing their role perfectly, there cannot be a significant country as it is not developing or evolving.

To conclude, the great nation cannot construct by a single idea or component, it requires more than a hundred visions and features. In other words, only excellent leaders, artists, and scientists cannot guarantee a country’s accomplishment if its people are not leading a healthy life, as well as, only general individuals cannot offer a developed nation. Therefore, both characteristics need to play their role to build a remarkable nation.