The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director of a large group of hospitals has written in a memo that a concentrated solution of UltraClean can reduce the bacteria than the liquid hand soaps which is currently used in their hospitals. He has concluded that they should supply UltraClean in all their hospital system. However, the argument of the author relies on three unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically reduced the persuasiveness of his argument.

To begin with, in the laboratory test, the Ultraclean is only compared with the liquid hand soaps that are currently used in the author’s hospitals, and based on that result, he reached the conclusion that the hand soaps should be supplanted by their tested concentrated solution. But, though the current soaps are unable to compete with the concentrated solution by 40%, no other soaps that are out of their hospitals, have been tested to verify the effectiveness of the solutions. It may be possible that the other soaps can reduce the bacteria more than the UltraClean. Without comparing other soaps rather than currently used soap, the author’s argument does not hold water.

Secondly, in the subsequent test, the author has assumed that the patients in their workby hospital are less infected because of the use of UltaClean. However, it may be not the case--- maybe the other hospitals in the group have patients who are already infected by other germs, or maybe they have not washed their hands with the hospital’s liquid hand soaps, rather than their personal soaps. Without proper investigation being done on the patients, the author’s argument is currently rife with holes and assumptions. They should provide the evidence that the other hospital’s patients properly use soaps to justify their subsequent test is accurate.

Thirdly, the author has assumed that the replacement of liquid soap with UltraClean can prevent infections in the patients. But, maybe the soap is not the problem: maybe the patients are reluctant to practice any soap or solutions; maybe they are not that hygienic or cautious about the bacterial infections. Also, there is no data presented on that the patients are regularly using hospital’s soaps but still got affected. So, without proper evidence, it will be a naive act to tell the solution will impede the severe infections.

In conclusion, the director’s argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide three pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it is possible to determine whether the UltraClean should be used at all the hand-washing stations in order to reduce the serious bacteria infections.