Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world is in the age of information and technology, so many people say that the government should spend more money on internet access than to in public transportation. However, I am totally disagree with these people, and I think that It is important for government to spend more money in public transportation than Internet access. I think this way for two reasons.

Firstly, improvement of public transportation is more important than Internet. Internet has the alternatives, but public transportation has no alternatives. People use internet for the virtual communication and access the information. However, for communication and information there are alternatives, such as letters, telegrams for the communication and books, journals, and magazines for information. On the other hand, there is no alternatives for the public transportations. For instance, we may send mails in email or letters, but how can we send physical materials? Is it possible to send a chair ten kilometer away by internet? The answer is no, it is not possible. To send physical materials we need to use cargo or currier services, and for these services, we need public transportation. The example shows us that public transportation has no other alternatives, but internet has. Thus, improvement of public transportation is more important.

Secondly, people cannot avoid public transportation, and a sophisticated transportation system make the people's life easier and more comfortable. For example, people need to go their working places. To go working places people need to use public transports. However, many job is now internet based, but maximum job are not. People need to present physically at their job in most of the cases. Another example, we can see different places of the world, but just watching cannot fulfill our thirst of travelling. Travelling physically is not as like as travelling internet. The examples shows us that we cannot avoid physical transport, even if we have highest speed internet connection. Hence improvement of public transportation is preferable than the Internet.

In conclusion, internet is important because it helps us to communicate and access us to information. However, we cannot ignore public transportation; it is like our basic needs. Therefore, I think government should spend more money to improve public transport than internet access.