The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, it is conclude that to reduce the on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing industry and thereby increase productivity, they should shorten the each of the three works shift by one hour so that the employees will get enough time for sleeping. However, the conclusion is based on three unwarranted assumptions, if refuted, will dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the conclusion.

Firstly, the author assumes that only adequate sleep can reduce the on-the-job accidents in Quot. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that in the company there is lack of safety for the workers. The worker may not follow safety rules and regulations in Quot properly, and the authority are reluctant about the safety for the workers. Perhaps, there is no adequate amount of personal protection equipment for the workers. This lack of safety measurements in Quot may be cause for the accidents. If the case is true, then the conclusion will not hold the water.

Secondly, the author presumes that the employee of the Quot have not the enough time for sleeping and the number of shifts are equal to the Panoply industry plant, but this may not be the true case. It is possible that the employees in Quot have already enough time for sleeping; they have the time for sleeping at least six hours, which is enough for an adult. It also possible that the number of shift in Panoply is two, so the employees of Panoply may not had the enough time for sleeping. Therefore, the reduction of hour in shift in Panoply is effective. However, as Panoply reduction of hour in sleep will not be effective for the case of Quot in this case, and thus, the conclusion is seriously undermine.

Finally, the author claims that the size of industry is same for the both of the industry. However, this may not be necessarily true. It is possible that the size of Quot is larger than the Panoply, there are more employee than the Panoply, and so the number of the accidents in Quot is more than the Panoply. Moreover, the ratio of accidents to the total number of employees in Panoply may be greater than the Quot. Therefore, in this case the 30 percent more accident in Quot than the Panoply is not able to show the exact scenario; thus, the argument seems erroneous for the baseless assumption of the author.

In conclusion, reduction of hour in shift to give more time for sleeping for the worker may be effective; however, now, as it stand, the argument is specious and untenable as it relies on the mentioned unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, the author should provide necessary information to make the argument unassailable and reasonable.