Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society especially among children Others believe that children s peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children s beh

Given the background of a much exposed way to raise a child in this generation, media plays a vital role in influencing a child's behavior. However, children are moulded in the hands of the society in which they grow up. It is evident from the fact that children reflects parent's behavioral pattern. Therefore the intensity to which they are influenced by their peer groups are incongruent with the effect of any violence scenes telecasted in media.

The reason behind the children's behavior can be imputed to three major patterns : people they meet on a routine basis, time and conversation spent with parents and finally the circumstances they face. People whom they interact on daily basis can be their teachers, well wishers, relatives , friends, colleagues and others. Children observe and learn the characteristics of such people, trying to inculcate the knowledge they gain in order to experiment with the visuals they noticed. Though there are chances for a constructive development, there are high possibility for them to get diverted in to a misleading pathway. Thus, spending time and conversing with parents can refine the thought process a child undergoes.

Whenever children chooses their personal ways to build life, it is better to discuss their plan to their parents. But when a parent is unavailable at the time of taking decision, or giving opinions to refine their ideas, it can lead to a devastation. Often children adopt the role model from their grandparents or parents. It can either me detrimental or influential positively. Moreover, they are not willing to change their much entrenched ideas and values they instil in them at a very early age.

Situations and circumstances in which a child is raised, plays a predominant role equally to that of a parent. When a child grows in a very settled life, he can either be a scholar or a spoiled based upon the values his parents teach him. There are situations where children are mostly bullied, annoyed or teased, it can surely affect the mental well being. It is because of the society in which they grow up. Further, they are left lonely most of the time with only nannies around. Hence, a good parenting to lend ears and shoulder to a child is highly important in this case.