An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Given argument states that to combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can do to promote the new type of millet. Further is states that an international development organization, in response to vitamin A deficiency people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people adopt the new variety. The argument is unconvincing since some questions left unanswered . The seriously undermines the credibility of the argument and invalidates the merit of the argument.

The first and foremost question that needs to be answered is regarding the subsidies provided to the farmers for farming new type of millet. Argument states that seeds of new type millet cost more but subsidies would be provided without providing data to corroborate this claim. Further data is needed to proof that subsidies given will be equal or more to the cost of new type of seeds as argument already states that Tagus is impoverished nation so its farmers cannot risk huge lose for example, it might be possible that seeds of new type of millet would cost way more than the subsidies given to the farmers then it would ruin the livelihood of the farmers in Tagus. Therefore, data regarding the cost and subsidies should be provided in the argument.

Additionally we need cogent answers to the questions regarding the resources of the government to promote new type of millet. As we know from the argument that Tagus is a impoverished nation so it would be disastrous for the economy of country to promote new kind of farming which cost more. Data regarding resources of the government which include budget allocated for promotion, number of work force required for the promotion etc. For example, it might be possible budget allocated for promotion of new type of millet is not sufficient to promote on whole region or work force for the promotion of new type of farming is not up to the mark. Thus, data regarding the resources of the government should have been provided in the argument.

Further, answer needed to the question regarding the promptness of the people to adopt new variety of the millet. To corroborate this explanation regarding geographical condition, survey of people views on the new kind of millet for example, it might be possible that geographical conditions of Tagus are such that do not allow farming of new millet on whole region; it might be possible that people do not like this kind millet.

Therefore, by failing to answer some critical questions like the ones mentioned above the argument exposes its inherent fallacies. To fully appreciate the merit of argument one needs cogent answers to the questions posed above, since the argument fails to deliver on this count we reject it in totality.