Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The company management wants to implement a policy in which a conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence would be done. Further more management cited that this kind of policy would reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits. This statement is marred by indiscriminate word choice which reduces the efficacy of the statement and renders the sentiment expressed superficial. The statement becomes marginal, opinionated and subjective in nature which reduces the clarity, potency and the sentiment expressed.

To begin with the use of word routine is polemical since it is a broad term which should be specified in above statement. Company suggest to conduct a routine monitoring of all employees e-mail correspondence but failed to specify the frequency of routine monitoring whether it is conducted too many times or only one time. Frequency of routine monitoring directly affects the working of employees for example, if the routine monitoring of e-mails conducted every day rather one or two times a month, this would ultimately annoy all the employees working in the company which further reduces their output thus all combined, efficiency of the company would greatly decrease. Therefore, frequency of conducting routine monitoring should be specified in above statement.

Additionally, it can be argued that conducting a routine monitoring of employee's emails, rather of having salubrious affect on the work culture of company would have disastrous effects. This kind of monitoring would be an indication of attack on the privacy of employees, further it is not specified that whether emails monitored are company emails or all the emails because some of emails are kind of private one for example, if routine check up of all the emails are conducted in the company then there are some emails which employees do not want to share with others but conducting check up of such kind of emails would come into the light of public. Therefore, this kind of policy would be an indication of attack on privacy of employees.

Further, it can be said that this kind of policy would have disastrous consequences on the company as this kind of policy would reduce the morale, team spirit and loyalty of employees towards the company. Reduction in these factors would ultimately lead to worsening of work culture, lose of economy.

It can be concluded that by ignoring the critical factors that are essential for the assessment of the statement given above, the issue becomes unilateral and subject to subjective generalization. On grounds of pure logic and reason one cannot agree with the statement which suffers a great extent due to use of words that are in themselves poorly defined and used in desultory manner.