Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Some people believes that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society while others believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. The former is believable statement since it does not indulge in the inordinate word choice while the latter statement comes across as an overt generalization in which some are used randomly reducing the efficacy of the same. The statement becomes polemical and subjective in nature so as a reader one cannot agree with the sentiment expressed by the latter statement.

To begin with, the latter statement states that teaching morality should be foundation of education instead of logical reasoning but this statement holds a parochial viewpoint. Emphasizing morality over logical reasoning instead of having salubrious effect on students can result in causing detrimental effects such as reducing the power of debating with decrease in the curiosity level among students for example, in a class of etiquette it is morally wrong to hinder the teacher lecture but if that teacher teaches something which is factually wrong, a student instilled with morality teaching would not question the teacher instead grasp that fact thinking of being correct but same student if instilled with logical reasoning might have questioned with teacher and make him/her realize the mistake. Therefore, students must be taught logical reasoning instead of morality.

It can be stated that teaching logical reasoning instead of morality to students would have a salubrious effect on the intellectual ability of students. Further it would increase the critical decision making of students which is essential for every human being to master for the better future and thus boost the confidence level of students. For example, in war decision have to be made based on the situation without considering emotions but an army based on morality cannot take decision ignoring the emotions which can have detrimental effects later. So society should focus on logical reasoning as educational base instead of morality.

It can be said that morality over logical reasoning would not lead to a better society rather can lead to destructive one . We can look to the human history most of the wars fought based on the religious beliefs of the kingdoms which they thought to be morally correct leading to hundreds thousands of death. Thus a society based on logical reasoning would produce a moral society.

The former statement which states that some people believes that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society is cogent and well articulated but latter comes across as an overt generalization which is subjective and marginal. Thus, on grounds of pure logic and reason we cannot agree with the sentiment expressed by the latter statement.