The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument states that Seatown institute should adopt a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among faculty and luring new professors. To bolster this , a study conducted at a nearby Oceania university showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their on college-aged children. The given argument is rendered ineffective since it makes some illogical proposition that when put to logical dissection do not survive it. The absence of specific evidence to corroborate the given claim reduces the merit of the argument and belies its inherent claims.

To begin with we need the specific evidence regarding economic budget of both the institutions mentioned above, absence of same could effect the merit of the argument. Above mentioned policy of providing tuition free to the professor's college-aged children put pressure on the economic condition of both the institute as without considering economic limit and adopting a policy like it could have fatal results for example, it might be possible that Seatown economic budget is way less than that of Oceania University then Seatown institute could not afford to adopt such kind of policy which put a heavy burden on its budget. Therefore, author should have provide the details regarding economic budget of both the university before making such claims.

Further specific evidence is needed about the faculty details of Seatown institute which include number of faculty members, martial information and pay scale of the faculty members. Absence of these details belies the claim done by the argument. For example, it might be possible that Seatown institute gives enough pay to the professors to afford college tuition fees for their children then adopting such policy seems completely useless or it might be possible that most of the professors are newly married thus not require this kind of policy or their children are past to college life. Thus, details regarding pay scale, number of faculty members or martial information are necessary to bolster this argument.

It can be argued that the professors of Seatown institute do not require this kind of policy instead of this, they require better infrastructure and research-development funding. Author should have taken these other factors into account before adopting such kind of policy for Seatown institute.

It is evident that the specific evidence if provided could have impacted the merit of the argument since it fails to provide on the same on grounds of pure logic and reason, we can reject this argument owing to its inherent flawed structure and limited scope.