The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter suggests that Seatown University should institue a free-tuition policy for its professor for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring in new professors. The author makes this suggestion because of a study that was conducted at a nearby Oceania University which showed that the faculty retention was higher when free tuition was offered for their own children. In order to consider the statement, a the following questions must be answered to buttress the statement made.

Firstly, it is stated that at the nearby Oceania University the faculty retention is higher because they offered free tuition at the university. This means that the children of the faculty at Oceania University chose to attend classes at said University instead of other Universities. Will it be the same for Seatown University. Are the children of the faculty at Seatown University willing to attend that particular University other than the plethora of other Universities available. Even with free tuition offered, if the children prefer to attend Universities elsewhere, then the argument holds no water. Without this question being answered, it is difficult to consider the authors suggestion.

Secondly, is the Seatown University on the same league as the nearby Oceania University. Can both the Universities be compared to each other and be thought of as somewhat similar. Does Seatown University offer courses that are popular and have high tuition fees where if a professor were to admit their children, it would save them a lot of money while being beneficial to the child. It can be assumed that Oceania University offered a courses that the professors wanted to put their children into. Is it the same at Seatown University. This question must also be answered in order to take the authors suggestion into consideration.

Lastly, is there a different reason for the high faculty retention rate at Oceania University other than the author has suggested. Is the offer of free tuition at Oceania not the reason but a completely different thing for the high faculty retention rate altogether. In that case offering free tuition to the professors children at Seatown University just because they did so at Oceania University may or may not yield any results.

To conclude, the author must provide answers to the above three questions in order to support the suggestion. Only after that can the authors suggestion be taken into consideration