The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that Seatown University should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the sheer purprose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors. The author believes that based on the study conducted by Oceania University that showed higher faculty retention when the professors at the university were offered a free-tuition policy for their own college-aged children. The author's claim is not well-reasoned, as it believes that since the free-tuition policy resulted to be fruitful for Oceania University, Seatown University should implement the same policy to lure new professors.

At first, the author claims that Seatown University should implement the free-tuition policy as it would help in enhancing morale among the faculty and lure new professors based on the study conducted by Oceania University that resulted to be a success is flawed. The Oceania University would have conducted their study while taking merely 10 people into consideration and the result was that, 7 faculty decided to stay back at the university and offered them free tuition for their children. If the study was conducted on 25 faculty members and only 7 faculty members decided to stay back at the university since the university provided a free-tuition policy.

To conclude that, the author claims that Seatown University should implement the free-tuition policy is flawed.