The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Following this letter sent from the faculty committee at Seatown University, the letter explains that to retain faculty, the university should adopt a free-tuition policy based of a survey done at another nearby school which showed that there was a connection between higher retention rates of faculty and the free tuition policy. While at the surface, that sounds like a great idea that Seatown Unversity, the committee's letter is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions that need to be dealt with before they can move forward.

First, the committee is assuming that the faculty at Seatown University wants the same policy of free tuition as the nearby Oceania University based on a study done at the latter. The issue is that this study the committee is citing does not mention if any of the Seatown faculty were a part of the study. There was no connection to the Seatown faculty to this study directly and were not asked to see if this would be something that they would be interested in implementing. The faculty could want something completely different such as pay raises, better healthcare or larger contributions to retirement. There is a total disregard and unwarranted assumptions made by the committee to jump to the idea that the faculty at Seatown strive for the same policies as Oceania University.

Second, there are other ways in which retention of faculty can be affected. The faculty at Oceania could have their benefits changed in a negative way, which could drive faculty away from the university. To combat this, Oceania University could have surveyed the faculty after adding the policy showing the "success" of the policy. Another situation is the university could have a hostile environment, driving faculty away and this policy was adopted to keep people from leaving. There are too many alternative situations in which could have occurred and can not correlate the success of the policy from one college to the next.

Finally, we do not know the contents of the study. How many people were involved? Who takes part in the study? If there were only a few faculty members that took part of the study, then the data being used is unreliable and should not be trusted. Seatown University has not released any information in which to support their claim that the policy is something that is desired by their faculty. This plus the shaky study being used leads more to the conclusion that the committee has not done its research and consulted the correct people and thus should not move forward until more questions are answered.

While it is understandable that the committee wants to retain its faculty, they have not shown any supporting evidence that the faculty at their university desire this policy, used a shaky study from another university to support their claim and before they move forward, they must fill the many holes and answer questions before anything implemented.