Governments should place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement says the Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. Science is one of mankind’s greatest studies that has allowed us to evolve into the beings we are today. From the earliest trial and error of forming the wheel and fire, Einstein’s Theory of Relativity and the multiple trials of creating vaccines to protect us against pathogens, research has allowed us to push the limits of science further and further. But with the many success, there have been numerous egregious consequences that have occurred in the wake of scientific research and that is why if disagree with the sentence above.

First, the creation of restrictions are usually due to mistakes made in past trials that have led to harmful outcomes. An example would be the many laws that are created when testing is to be done on human beings. Test examiners must have participants read sign multiple documents outlining what the experiment is testing, if there are any harmful products that may be exposed to the participants and possible side effects and long-term issues that could arise. The Tuskegee syphilis experiments are an example of why there should be restrictions imposed on scientific research due to the fact that those trials led to the illness and deaths of the participants who were not told they were infected with a disease but not given any sort of help afterward.

Next, a government that imposes restrictions on research allows for safe products to enter the market. Scientific research into medicine to help manage, alleviate or cure diseases is one of the most important activities we as a society can strive for. The concern is the materials to used in medicine, food additives etc. are toxic, steps need to be taken in order to ensure that when it is allowed for public use, the products are vetted. Before companies can test on humans, there are restrictions that say to go through multiple trials using other animals as participants and show with sufficient evidence that there is a low probability of serious side effects on people. The FDA is the organization that creates the rules, restrictions, and regulations for drug companies when in research and development to ensure the public that products are as safe as they can be.

Then, Government restrictions that are created and implemented can deter bad actors from using the research process to create weapons. Scientific research in to the field of nuclear energy has many restrictions due to the instability of the material and the power that it holds if it were to be used as a weapon. A bad actor, if not deterred by the numerous amounts of restrictions set in place, could and would use the ability to harness the power of nuclear energy in their research and use it to create massive destruction.

Considering the idea that if the Government were to have few, if any restrictions on scientific research, some would argue that it would allow for more success in finding products that could further progress society such as researching materials that could cure cancer, Parkinson’s, Dementia and Climate Change to name a few. But if there is no restrictions on research, testers can do anything means necessary to find success which could mean disregard for workers, particapants and the general public. This is why we need to restrictions on scientific research.

When it comes to restrictions on scientific research placed by the government, I disagree with the statement above in that we need them in order to ensure the safety of everyone involved along with the general public.