The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

The advertising director at Super Screen Movie is concerned with the attendance and suggests that to attract more people to come to their movies would be to increase the budget for advertising. While this makes sense that a person in this position would suggest this type of solution to increase attendance, there are a plethora of fallacies that need to be addressed before the recommendation can be executed.

The first issue is attendance and whether or not it has decreased due to some external power such as instability of the economy? If there is an economic recession looming or is currently affecting people, this could lead to a decrease in attendance due to the fact that people do not have the money to shell out. People will sacrifice external pleasures such as movies, vacations and or trips if they are unsure of their current and or future economic stability. Not considering that there may be other problems that may have an influence on attendance to Super Screen Movie is a mistake and should be examined by the company.

The next concern is how much did the attendance decrease when compared to the year before. The prompt explains, “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year" but does not give any percentage or statistics to examine and compare too. Was attendance decreasing the last few years? Was it increasing before? We have nothing to go off of other than the so-called "recent report" and can not make any fair judgment or decisions off this ambiguous statement.

Finally, the director assumes that increasing the budget for advertising will correlate to an increase in attendance. The company does not offer any information on whether they increased the budget in prior years and whether or not advertising had any success. If the company would have added a survey asking how their audience heard about the movie or the company with the option of "advertisement", then they could possibly correlate attendance to advertising and thus increase the budget. But of course, they did not do this and thus can does not lead to the solution the director suggests.

In conclusion, while the director suggests that to fix the issue of attendance to the Super Screen Movie, they must increase the budget for advertising, there is no evidence that this argument offers that would support this suggestion while also answering many more questions before going ahead.