Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The prompt explains that companies should be responsible for the well-being of society and its corrsponding environment but also says that others believe that if a company works within the confines of the law, its only goal is to make as much money as possible. While I do understand both of these statements, I strongly agree with the first one due to these reasons, corporations are responsible for the products they produce and if corporations what to profit off of society and its environment, they also need to advance both towards a positive future. We can consider that if a corporation works with in the law, then they only need to worry about making as much money as possible, however, there are unseen concerns if we allow only this goal to occur.

First, corporations need to be held accountable for the products that they create. If society allows companies to produce and does not support the well-being of society and the environment, both can start to degrade. An example of this is the products like Roundup weed killer. Yes this product was successful but, we come to find out that the company what created Roundup was in fact toxic to people and the environment due to a certain dangerous chemical that was never disclosed to the public. This is a clear violation of the law and opposite of what a corporation should have done as this does not benefit society or our environment.

Next, if a corporation wants to profit off of society and the environment, they should promote a positive future for both. We can observe the aggressive trend of manufacturing of electric vehicles. Specifically corporations such as Tesla, Lucid Motors and Rivian are on the forefront of this trend. These companies are aiming to lessen society's dependence on gasoline powered cars, which produce emissions that destroy the environment are causing health issues for people. This is a positive example of corporations that aim to drive the well-being of society and the environment.

Finally, while I can understand the point of view from the second statement, I do see issues with it. Yes most companies do work with in the confines of the law and only focus on profit, but one must also understand that even if corporations do stay with in the boundaries, dangers and unforeseen issues can still arise. We can see this the numerous fires in California, started by equipment from General Electric. Even they are working with in the law of maintaining their products that bring electricity to people, the unforeseen equipment storages leading to sparking and these massive fires in the state show that we have to have companies assist in the well-being of society and our environment.

In conclusion, corporations do have the responsibility to drive the well-being of society and the environment. While some do think that if corporations do work with in the law, they only need to focus on profit which I disagree due to that companies are responsible for the products they produce and if companies want to profit off of society and the environment, they should also drive a positive future for both.