governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt explains that governments should offer free university/colleges education to all students. There has always been the sentiment in our society that getting a college education was a sure-fire way to making good money and climbing the socioeconomic ladder. The university experience is a one-of-a-kind opportunity to expand people’s critical thinking skills and find a field of study that one can focus on and create a career from. I agree that the Government, specifically the United States Government should pay for college/university education for students and these are the reasons why.

First, the U.S government should pay for college education for students as it removes one of the largest barriers that stop people from continuing their education, which is tuition, textbooks and fees. Institutions such as the UC system have tuition in the twenty to thirty thousand dollars per year for in-state and out-of-state is even higher, discouraging thousands of students from applying because of the price tag. Families in the lower and middle socioeconomic class see these tuition prices, scaring them out of applying and attending a university such as UCSD or UC Davis, which are highly credible universities and opting for cheaper schools that may not have high notoriety. Having a system where the U.S.government pays for college and university education for students would remove this barrier for hundreds of thousands of students who wish to further their knowledge.

Next, if the U.S government would offer a free college education for students, creating a stream of individuals who now have degrees leading to a higher educated workforce. Statistics show that people who receive an associate or a bachelor's degree, have a greater chance of finding a career as well as having higher-paying jobs when compared to individuals who do not have a degree. This ultimately leads to better financial stability and upward socioeconomic mobility. We can generally see that people who do not have degrees tend to occupy menial jobs and have lower socioeconomic status while people with degrees will tend to have jobs in which are leadership positions and higher socioeconomic status. Having a college education paid by the U.S. Government for students will undoubtedly have benefits.

Finally, one concern is how the U.S. Government would pay for this proposal. After all, this idea would require major funding either from raising current taxes, constructing new taxes or removing funding from a different sector and applying to this proposal. People are not too fond of increasing or creating new taxes as they feel that that Government is taking away their money, but when examining tuition, textbooks and fees that colleges have, increasing taxes would be a much cheaper avenue than handing over tens of thousands of dollars which has to be done before each semester starts leading to loans and interest to build, it would make sense have the government pay fora college education so that people do not have to stress on tuition, loans, interest and possibly even defaulting.

When it comes to college and university education, I agree that it should be free of charge to students, paid for by the U.S. Government due to the topics I mentioned above.