Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It has always been an issue for teachers to rely the material to their students and it is even more difficult to assess the how well they are able to comprehend the material. I agree that the best way to assess a students learning is not the students grasps of facts but rather the ability to explain the ideas, trends and the facts. teachers can do this by having students explain their understanding of a topic in their own words while giving examples and teaching the topics to current and future students. while assessing a student based on the idea of grasping facts is a way of seeing if a student understands the information, it is still not a best way to gauge a students ability to take in and apply the knowledge.

One way in which we can assess a students comprehesion of an idea or theory is to have them explain it in their own words. The student must first be given the information, which then must process. once this occurs, now the educator can see how a student would explain the idea while using little to no words within the original statement. this drives the student to critically think about how the concept functions outside of the theoretical realm. Lets take the theory of evolution. A student will accept the information, explain what it is back to the teacher with an added example showing it physically happens as such as the theory of evolution of Homo- species from quadrapedal to bipedal. this is one way in which you can assess a students comprehension of a idea.

An educator can also determine students understanding of material by having the student teach their peers and future students. once a student can understand a concept at a deeper level, a teacher can have the student become an assistant, explaining the idea to other students, both current and future. Speaking for myself, I have been a tutor for a handful of classes at San Diego State for courses such as human Anatomy, human physiology and Exercise physiology. how I came to become one was by coming to a deeper understanding of the concepts, applying them to real world examples and situations, working with other students to assist them with their understanding leading the teacher to ask me to become a teaching assistant. this is what I believe the best way to assess students understanding of the course material.

While, assessing a students abilities by comprehending facts is a one way, such as simple definitions, reciting numbers and identifying terms, all of which is seen on many exams and standardized tests, they fail to be fully understood by most students because it is just memorization and not application. Due to this issue, that is why the above examples are the best way in which assess a student.

It is a tough task to assess a students absorption of material, it is quite easy to do if educators are using simple definition, defining and standardized tests to determine it, but if they really want to assess, theys hould have their students explain and apply the ideas and theories whcih allows them to connect them to the real world and that us way I strongly agree with the prompt.