All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Parents are said to be the first teacher that a child has. In the statement given, the authors suggests that parents must devote some of their time at their child’s school. This is quite a complicated topic but I somewhat disagree to the statement for the following reasons.

From when a child is born until he/she starts to go to school, the parents are the only teacher that the child will have. The child would learn how to walk, talk and various other skills by observing and trying to imitate his/her parents. But at school, the child will need to learn specific skills such as mathematics or concepts in science, which the parent might not be well enough qualified to teach it. That is where teachers come into play. They are qualified and capable to deliver the curriculum offered by the school in a way the child would understand and learn it. So when there are qualified teachers at school for every particular subject, there is no need of the parents to come in to school to volunteer.

Most parents go to work while their children are at school attending classes. So if they are asked to go volunteer at their child’s school during their busy work schedule, it might not be possible for them to do so. For example, for a parent who works a nine to five job at a company, it might not be possible to come out of work on a weekday to go volunteer at the school. Even if they are permitted at work to volunteer at the school, the time taken travelling from work to school and back depending on distance would take up valuable time they usually spend at getting work done at their respective places of work.

Lastly, children behave different in front of their parents as opposed to when they are with their peers at school. They might be more active or mischievous at school when they are in the company of their peers. But at home, they might not be as active when their parents are around. So asking the parents to go to the school where their children study and volunteer might make the child behave awkwardly just because he/she is being monitored by the parent. Also it will be slightly awkward for the teacher to teach in the presence of a students parent. Being watched while doing work makes many uncomfortable.

Parents may be good teachers for their children at home, teaching them or encouraging them to learn skills that are not taught at school. But for a parent to go to school to volunteer, when their students are in the hands of capable teachers is a bad idea for the above reasons.