Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

To follow ones dream is something that everyone has heard atleast once in their life. Here the author claims that people should be discouraged in following ones dream and instead must emphasize on picking worthy goals. This is a confounding statement as there is no right answer. Nevertheless, I somewhat disagree with the authors claim for the following reasons.

Everyone at some point in their life have had dreams of becoming successful in whatever way they are interested in. They dream about it day and night hoping that they would become successful in a certain field of interest. The author considers this selfish. But the author does not mention how picking worthy goals is the opposite of selfish. Everyone wants to become successful in their respective fields. If someone who followed their dreams is successful than if they have chosen a goal that the author considered worthy, is that considered selfish? Is being successful in a goal that the author considers worthy not selfish?

Everyone who works towards their dreams or a goal that the author considers worthy do so to make money and be successful. In a way then working will be selfish because everyone works to give themselves a better life than they previously had. People who dream of doing a certain type of work usually like something in that field and hence dream of doing so. For example at a school, if a child dreams of being an astronaut it would mean that he likes rockets or space. So one day even though he might not be an astronaut, the interest he had for space and rockets might lead him into studying engineering or astrophysics. And these fields are in no way non worthy. So even if people following their dreams might not make it exactly the way they imagined, it still might lead them to success.

On the contrary, not all dreams are good and in that case I will have to agree with what the author says. For example if a child dreams of being the worlds best burglar just because he saw a movie like Oceans 11, where they live luxurious lives even though they are on the wrong side of the law. In that case the child should be discouraged from following his dreams and more emphasis should be placed on picking more worthy goals. Because having a dream like that would probable get him into bad company which would eventually land him in jail.

To summarize, one must be encouraged to follow their dreams, except for certain exceptions. Following ones dreams might lead them to success than picking a worthy goal they are not interested in. And for the reasons stated above, I somewhat disagree to the authors statement.