In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Works of art like films, novels, poems are consumed by people all around the world. It is present in countries all over the world in a plethora of languages. The author of the statement suggests that for a work of art to have merit, it must be understood by the people who consume it. In most cases this holds true, but there are some exceptions that can be made.

Firstly, works of art are written or made by various authors who hail from different backgrounds with different ideologies. Sometimes works of art considered to be great in one part of the world might fail to be as successful in a completely different part of the world. Take for example Shakespeare, who is a very famous author in the west who is celebrated for works of art like Julius Caesar. He uses a grandiloquent version of English in all his works which is easily understood by people who speak that type of English. But for someone from another part of the world who is an amateur in English, Shakespeare might not be all that great of an author. This way the work of art must be properly understood by the consumer for it to hold merit.

While making a work of art, the authors generally make the work of art for a category of people who hail from a certain place. In that case only consumers who hail from that region or have lived there can get the gist of the work of art. For example, a famous poet Kuvempu, native to the western ghats in south India is celebrated for his poems. Most of the poems written by him refer to places found in South India and about things that happen there. If the same poem is translated into English and given to man who is native to London who has never visited South India, then the person reading it would not be able to relate to it. So for a work of art to have merit, the consumer must relate to whatever is in he or she is consuming.

But there are certain exceptions to the authors ideology. One of them is that sometimes a work of art does not have to make sense for the consumer to like it. The work of art can be confounding or convoluted and the consumer might still like it. For example, the movies directed by prominent director Christopher Nolan could be considered. All the movies directed by Christopher Nolan are extremely convoluted and to decipher what is going on is almost impossible. But still the movie are a success in box offices all over the world. In cases like this the authors statement does not hold true.

Works of art are usually how an artist expresses using his or her imagination. Even if the consumer does not understand it, but has a good time while reading or viewing it, that work of art can be given merit.