Television advertising directed toward young children

(aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Advertising is a way companies get people to sell whatever product they are selling. The author suggests that Television advertisements directed at young children must not be allowed. I disagree with the author and the following are the reasons as to why.

Advertisements help pay for the program that comes on the television. So irrespective of the audience the program is directed at, some form of advertising will be present. Therefore, I personally feel that it would be better to have advertisements directed at children during the breaks of a children’s television program. It would not be nice to have advertisements directed to adults while children are watching their favorite programs. Advertisements on soft toys and Legos are far more children friendly compared to advertisements for a gym with some adult humor in it.

Secondly, these advertisements will probably give the parents an idea about what they can buy their children, or what’s new on the market that would help their child grow. Especially for parents who are new to parenting and have no idea what to buy their children, these advertisements could be of some help. For example, advertisements about the latest Lego set, or English Flashcards would be informative to new parents since there is no harm caused to children from either of those products. Since parents usually sit with their children while they watch television, these types of advertisements could be of some help.

So to conclude, I think it is better to advertise to small children for the above reasons only. While there might be a negative side to this, there is also the fact that the parents have the authority to decide what to buy and what not to buy for their children so hence they won’t be in a situation where they will have to buy everything that is advertised for their children.