The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A good teacher is said to be one who praises the good and identifies and rights the wrong. Here the author believes that the best way to teach is by praising the good and ignoring the wrong. While praising the good is an excellent way to teach, ignoring the negative actions is not always the best resolve. Here are a few reasons to buttress the fact why praising good actions is right and ignoring the wrong actions will have a negative impact on an individual.

To praise someone when he/ she does something good is an excellent way of letting them know that their actions are most welcome and appreciated. This encourages them to continue doing good and would make them a better person. For example when a child learns something new that is good like saying “thank you” after receiving something, and the child is rewarded with a candy for doing that, the child is encouraged to do so until it becomes a habit. Or another example would be if an employee finishes his/her task before the stipulated deadline, and they are rewarded with a bonus along with their salary, it would be like praising them for their good actions.

On the contrary, to ignore the bad actions is like letting the person who involved in the bad action that it absolutely fine in performing actions that are considered bad. They will consider the action performed by them as completely acceptable and would even continue doing it. For example if a child has a habit of throwing everything he/ she is able to come in contact with, and he/she is not corrected in doing so, they will continue doing it as they will see no harm or wrong in it. But if action that is considered wrong is corrected every single time it is performed, eventually the child will understand that whatever he/she was doing was wrong and cease to do it. Another example would be that if an employee at a company shows up late to work every single day and he/she is not imformed of the wrongdoing, they will continue to do it. But if they are corrected there is a chance that they will be punctual the next day onwards. If they are not punctual even after the next day, a warning that there would be a loss of pay if they are late from the following day would make sure that they are punctual the following day.

Furthermore, when the wrong actions of a certain person are not corrected, the people around that certain person would also assume that the wrong action is infact right and they also might start doing it. This would lead to a big problem. If the wrong actions that are not corrected encourage others in performing the same actions, then there would be a huge problem. For example if an employee who isn’t punctual to work is not corrected of his/ her actions, the other employees at the work place might assume that it is okay not to be punctual. Hence it is extremely important to correct the wrong actions.

In conclusion, I agree with the author that good actions have to be praised, but due to the following reasons, it cannot be agreed that the wrong actions must go unpunished.