Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue at hand is whether it is better to use material from the internet or use printed material like books for research. This is quite a difficult issue because information is available at both sources which might be reliable. I believe that referring to printed materials like books is a better option while doing research for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is easier to read books. This is a personal opinion but I find it easier to read an article from a book as opposed to reading the same article from the internet. Reading on a computer or mobile screen tends to strain the eyes after some time. Also, there are plenty of distractions on a computer or mobile screen. Let us assume one is reading an article for research purposes off their mobile screen. If a notification from Instagram pops up, there is a chance that they might tap on it and proceed to be scrolling through Instagram for the next thirty minutes. But when one uses a book, there are no distractions. All the focus is on reading and absorbing the contents of the book.

Secondly, books are published by authors who would have researched extensively before writing the book. The chances of the information in a book being inaccurate is very low. On the Internet however, information is widely available. There will be a thousand different answers for the same question. One would never know as to which is right and which is wrong. Since anyone can post content on the internet without their name or contact information being disclosed, there is no way to track them and ask them about how and where they got their information.

Lastly, a book written by an author would have been cross verified by various other authors or professionals in the field for any kind of inaccuracies. If any inaccuracies would have been found, the book would have been published only after the author would have rectified it. Content on the internet however is slightly different. Anyone can publish an article about any topic and it would not be verified by professionals. The likelihood of information being wrong is high. For example, if one is to do research about thermodynamics, multiple books could be referred to and the laws of thermodynamics and their definitions would be fairly similar. However, on the internet, every website has their own definition for thermodynamics, some completely deviant from the topic itself.

For the above reasons, I feel that using printed material is better than using content from the internet for research purposes.