Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For me, I think it is better to use the internet instead of printed materials when doing researches. My reasons are as follows.

First, most people care about money, and using the internet to look for information can help people save a great deal of money. For example, people are able to do their own research via the internet without paying a single dollar. To be more specific, since most articles on the web are written my enthusiasts, people can read most of them for free. However, a printed book usually cost more than 50 dollars. Even if you borrow them from the library, in my country, you probably still need to pay 5 dollars per month in order to enjoy the service. As we can see, looking for data through the net can make you save a great amount of money.

Secondly, people generally place an emphasis on efficiency when they are researching things, and if they use physical book instead of the network, it can help them save a significant amount of time. To be more specific, if my mom and dad wants to plan a trip to Arizona, and they use Google to find tourist attractions in the state. Then, they only need to spend 5 seconds typing keywords in the search bar, and it requires less than 2 seconds for Google or Yahoo to display all the results they want. What’s more, they only need to spend 10 minutes perusing the top 10 search results. Nevertheless, if they choose to explore tourist attractions from book, they might need to spend more than 20 minutes driving to the library or book store, another 20 minutes filtering out the books they need, and yet another 20 minutes studying them.

Finally, most people want to get as much information as they can, and if they search for data from printed books, they might not be able to do so. To elaborate, when I was in college, I once used books and articles in the library to search for an unpopular research topic, and I was not able to find a single book covering it. However, by utilizing the google search engine, I could retrieve more than 1000 articles in just a single search. Clearly, the advent of web technology allows people to get a myriad of data, even if the knowledge is unpopular.

In conclusion, I suggest that when people are investigating some knowledge, they should definitely take advantage of the internet. This is because people care about money, efficiency, as well as procuring as much data as possible.