Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students can learn as much by watching films as they learn by reading books

Whether students can learn as much by watching films as they learn by reading books arouses a heated debate. While different people hold different perspectives about this issue, I still agree that watching videos can help students learn as much. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, while it is true that books can provide people detailed topics, films can often teach students skills outside of books. Consequently, films can be treated as supplementary materials. For example, my high school English teacher let us watch American and British movies during the recess. Students learned several dissimilarities between American English and British English, such as the different spelling of color and colour. In addition, they learned plenty of American slang, like the word "duh", which is used to express stupidity. These special words are nearly impossible to be acquired from standard textbooks. As a result, students understood colloquial English more after relishing these movies. Contrarily, reading classical English literature only improves students' formal English skills. Due to this reason, while I don't deny that people can gain a significant amount of understanding from books or articles, learning by watching films can also bring them a great deal of knowledge, especially ones that are impossible to learn from books.

In addition, watching films can undoubtedly assists students in learning a concept faster. This is because videos and documentaries are usually made for non-professional enthusiasts, so producers usually use non-complex and easy-to-understand terms to explain a difficult topic. As an example, my biology teacher let us watch an etymological documentary about caterpillars, and we learned the overall concept of what caterpillars eat, the processes of metamorphosis, as well as how butterflies attract their mates through the video. Therefore, we understood most knowledge about butterflies and caterpillars in no more than 30 minutes. On the other hand, if my teacher asked us to read caterpillar concepts from a 400-page biology textbook, then students certainly need more than 4 months to digest them thoroughly. As a result, even though students can gain a more comprehensive understanding of butterflies' transformation, it might take them no less than three per every day to figure out details about metamorphosis and memorize butterfly organs. Evidently, while it is true that books can provide students with solid details about a certain topic, learning from videos helps them save a significant amount of time.

In conclusion, I agree that people can acquire a similar amount of knowledge from films and reading books due to the aforementioned reasons.