Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students can learn as much by watching films as they learn by reading books

Some people believe that students can learn as much by watching films as they learn by reading books. I agree with this idea and would like to explain why I agree with below reasons and examples.

First of all, students are more familiar with watching films and movie is much easier to understand than books. For example, there are many device manuals that have a paper version and a video version together. When we read a complicated paper manual, sometimes it is very difficult to understand how to use it. However, when we watch a film manual, we feel comfortable and understand it easily. Students’ learning must be similar to this example.

Second, students can get more information by watching than by reading in same time duration. This time saving is the biggest advantage of watching films in learning. For example, nowadays I am learning histories of the Middle East countries by watching You-tube videos. It consists of 6-hour lecture that is similar to almost 12 history books which would take at least a month to read them all. I saved time a lot to learn the histories by watching videos and it was so effective way of understanding their histories with visual effects such as maps and pictures and so on.

Third, nowadays it is easy for us to find films which we want to learn and it is also much cheaper than buying books. This point gives students many chances to check freely what they are interested in. For instance, we can find any kind of videos in You-tube and watching them at home as free of charge. So, students can see many kinds of films as pre-study and then they can concentrate on a specific field for their intensive study.

To sum up, watching films has many advantages such as easier understanding, time saving and easy access with big quantity for learning. In this regard, I strongly support the idea that students can learn a lot by watching videos similar to by reading books.