Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Parents today are more involved in their children s education than parents were in the past

Nowadays, as the importance of employment and college is emphasized, parents are interfering more with their children. Therefore, I agree that parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past. I have three reasons to support my opinion.

First, the number of private academies has exploded. In the past, students rarely went to academies and even if they did, they only went to English or math, which is the main subject. On the other hand, these days, all parents often go to academies for all subjects, so most students often spend their time at academies. For example, my close friend also said that she is stressed because of the academy every day. Just looking at this phenomenon shows that parents care more about their children than in the past.

Second, parents prepare thoroughly for various examinations. There are many tests that are advantageous for college such as TOEFL, HSK, AP etc. Therefore, parents let their children take all the tests by looking into various academies. In the past, however, parents could not care about things related to college because of their lack of information, and above all, they were busy living so it was impossible to pay attention to it.

Last, parents are interested in children’s dreams from an early age. Many children often change their dreams when they are young and it is very difficult to decide when they are in high school. If you do this, your motivation for studying will be weakened and it will be difficult to set goals, so parents make their child decide their dreams from an early age. On the contrary, mom said that in the past, there was not enough time to talk about the future with the parents.

This is why I think parents care more about their children than in the past. As time progresses and living standards improve, parents seem to be doing so in the hope that their children will live in a better environment.