Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Over the past several decades, our society has witnessed and experienced radical changes in each and every aspect of our lives. One of the most noticeable changes that can be seen in society is the rapid development of technology. The advancement of technology has also created numerous games that modern children enjoy a lot. Regarding this issue, some people hold the opinion that children should not be allowed to play computer games because they are a waste of time. Personally however, I believe that computer games are very advantageous for children. I feel this way mainly because of two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

In the first place, it is an undeniable fact that children adore spending their free time playing computer and video games. In fact, countless children consider them as hobbies through which they can release the stress that they have accumulated. Therefore, it is my belief that children can become more content and happy if parents let their children play games. My cousin's experience is a compelling example of this. My cousin Mat is a ten-year-old child who has started to play computer games a few months ago. In the past, Mat's parents would not allow him to play games. This was mainly due to their belief that games would negatively influence their child. As a result, Mat usually had confrontations with his parents and ended up really stressed. However, after Mat began to play computer games, he has stopped having arguments with his parents and he also has become a more positive and energetic person. In other words, children can become more content and free of stress if they play computer games.

In the second place, from my point of view, children can be given the opportunity to develop their social skills by playing computer games. To explain, children who invest their spare time on games will likely acquire various topics of discussion to share with other individuals of their age. Thus, they will interact with their friends more than they otherwise would. To illustrate this point, I will continue the previous example of my cousin. Mat was always a shy person in front of other children and as a result, he has always experienced difficulties in making new friends. Nevertheless, after Mat had started to play computer games, he has made a lot of friends. If he had not begun to play computer games, he would have never been able to meet such a great number of new children. Stated differently, computer games allow children to interact with numerous people who share their same interests.

To conclude, although it is true that computer games are not as educational as books are, they do provide several benefits to children. Therefore, based on the arguments mentioned above, I deeply disagree with the statement that children should be prohibited from playing games because they are a waste of time.