Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Children absorb everything they are taught. At school apart from academics, what is wrong and what is right must be taught. According to the author, some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education while others believe that teaching logical reasoning would produce a moral society. I somewhat side with the people who believe that morality should be the foundation of education for the following reasons.

Children are extremely impressionable. They need to be directed in the right direction from a young age. They must be able to tell the right apart from the wrong. If they are not taught to do so, they might grow up to be immoral adults. That is something that is not good for the progress of the human kind. Imparting moral reasoning into the education system would teach one the difference between what is right and what is wrong from a very young age. For example, if a class based on moral reasoning is assigned to students even just once a week, where they are taught about what is right and what is wrong and how doing the wrong will have a negative impact it would do wonders in the moral growth of the child.

When it comes to logical reasoning being taught as a substitute for moral reasoning, then students will run into problems. Everything that is logically correct is not morally right. In some situations, things that may seem logically right might be morally wrong. In such circumstances the child who has been taught logical reasoning may take wrong decisions. For example, a person who has been taught a foundation of logical reasoning in place of moral reasoning is faced with a situation where he/she must run over a cat with a car or crash the car into a tree. Logically it would make sense to run over the cat since crashing the car into a tree is expensive and would involve repairs. This would also mean that the car would be out of service. But morally, running over the cat would mean taking a life. And that is a bad thing to do. In these kinds of circumstances, logical reasoning would prove to be immoral.

While Logical reasoning should be taught as a part of the curriculum, it cannot be substituted for moral reasoning. This is why I have to agree with the people who believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education.