The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above passage, the author argues that because the children when interviewed spoke more about their biological parents than other people in the village, it implies that Dr. Fields observation is wrong. The author also suggests that the observation centered approach is invalid and the interview centered approach used is valid. There are a few questions that need to be answered in order to buttress the authors conclusion so it can be considered.

Dr. Field had observed the members of the island almost twenty years ago. Is the culture followed on the island when the author visited comparable to the culture followed by the people on the island twenty years ago? Are the children being reared in the exact same way that they were being reared twenty years ago. So once these questions are answered the authors conclusion can be considered

The author mentions that the children when interviewed, spend more time speaking about their biological parents than other people in the village. What the author fails to mention is that what was being spoken of the parents and also of the other adults in the village. The child speaking more of his or her biological parents does not mean that he or her was reared only by the biological parents. It would help one come to a clearer conclusion if the author could specify what the children spoke about the parents and the other adults in the village.

The author also seems to have come to the conclusion that his/her method used in understanding the culture at Tertia is superior and accurate compared to the method used by the Dr. Field. The author also mentions that this method will help get a better understanding of the culture followed by the Tertian people and also the cultures in other islands. What the author fails to mention is how the interview centered method is accurate. How does the author know that whatever the people in the interview tell are actually accurate and is followed by the people.

If the author could answer the following questions, then the conclusion that the author has come to might be considered.