Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The given statement tells us that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. The given statement is marred by indiscriminate word choice which greatly reduces its efficacy. The same seriously undermines the credibility of the statement and renders the sentiment expressed superficial. The statement is marginally opinionated and subjective in nature, which compromises the clarity, potency and impact of sentiment expressed.

To begin with use of word field is problematic as statement does not defines the type of field of study, whether new field of study is related to their current course or a new one. Both type requires different approach to learn, If new field is related to their current field of study then it is easy for student to imbibe the new field but if new field study is completely different then it would take extra effort to learn the field of study. For example, If a student of history chooses the political history as its new field of study, it would take less effort for him/her to learn about this field of study while if same student chooses mathematics as new field of study then it will take painstaking effort to learn about this field Thus, statement should have specified the type of new field of study.

Additionally, it can be argued about the criteria on which college institutions decides particular field of study at which student is unlikely to succeed. Statement should have specified the criteria for predicting the success of student in a particular field whether prediction is done on the grades of the student acquired in examination or the choice is given to the students to select specific new field of study. For example if choice is given to the student to select the new field of study based on their interest then it would be beneficial for the student as they could lean from new field to fullest of it.

Further it can be argued that above statement presents college institutions as stickler. Instead of letting students to select the new field of study based on their interest, above statement imposes the field of study on the students which the college authority thinks better for student ignoring the fact whether the student has a interest in it or not. For example a student has a interest in the web development course but the college makes student to learn machine learning without considering the interest of the student.

It can be concluded that by ignoring the factors which are critical for the assessment of the statement the issue becomes somewhat unilateral and subject to subjective generalization. On grounds of pure logic and reason one cannot agree with this statement which suffers a great extent due to use of words that are poorly defined and used in desultory manner.