A recent study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy in incidents based upon paid and unpaid leave. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The above argument is based on a recent study conducted by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention and states that employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in work relates accident as compared to employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. This hypothesis is based on the reasoning that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during illness and their judgment is impaired due to which they are more likely to be involved in an accident. However, the researchers’ hypothesis is not reasonable, as many important factors and variables have not been taken to consideration by them which would provide the validity of the hypothesis.

First of all, the researchers state that construction jobs showed the highest discrepancy in incidents based on upon paid or unpaid leave. However, construction jobs are already high risk jobs and there are many incidents which might happen on a site that have nothing to do with an individual being sick. Such as accidently toppling the boxes, failure or wrong use of an equipment, not having enough expertise to the task Etcetera, which are not affected by an individual being sick or not.

Secondly, the author states that workers are 28% less likely to be involved in an accident if they receive payment for sick leave. 28% is not even a majority figure to conclude results or to prove a hypothesis. Furthermore, we have no information about the sample size on which this analysis was done. We have no data regarding the demographics of the sample size which is an important factor in correlation with work. Such as age can directly affects the quality of the work. People who are older are more likely to be impacted by sickness and their work efficiency is more likely to decrease. This researchers’ sample must have consisted of more people of an older age for all we know. Hence more data regarding the demographics of the sample size is needed to make an accurate judgement.

Lastly, we don’t know the sample size or the conditions under which this study was conducted. The Researchers’ in their hypothesis state that people feel more pressured to work during their time of illness due to a fear of not being paid. However, we can’t relate pressure to work during illness with lack of pay. This could also be because there are some important tasks which need to be completed urgently and sent out due to which employees have to work while being sick. It might also be because the employee does not like to take a leave when sick and instead feels like finishing his/her tasks at hand.

Hence on the basis of the above arguments it can be concluded that the validity of the researchers’ hypothesis cannot be verified. More details regarding their sample and the setting of the study are needed to analyze the validity of the researchers’ conclusions. Researchers also need to dive deeper in their study to prove this hypothesis as the current figure shows only 28% likeliness of employees to work during time of sickness due to fear of not being paid. This is not an adequate percentage to prove the validity of their hypothesis.