"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the above argument the business manager of a television station has cited that they have been receiving complaints from their viewers due to less time being devoted to weather and local news on their channel. Local Businesses which used to previously advertise with them during their late night news program, have also cancelled their advertising contracts. Hence, the manager feels that to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing on any further advertising revenues, they should restore the time previously devoted to weather and local news. Though, it may directly seem from these cited reasons that lack of time devoted to weather and local news is the reason for complaints from viewers and loss of advertising contracts, strong evidence is needed to completely support this argument.

The author has mentioned that the news channel received complaints from customer regarding their station's coverage of weather and local news, but no definite number has been mentioned to indicate how many complaints have come. It might be possible that there were only 2-3 complaints on which the manager is basing his argument. A definite number of complaints specific to weather and local news are required to analyze the argument further. Also, the manager mentions that customers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news, but never once has clearly mentioned what exactly was the concern. For example, the concern might have been about the quality of the weather and local news being reported or the headlines which are being reported or their accuracy. Never once it is mentioned that the concern is regarding less time being devoted to weather and local news.

In addition, the manager mentions local businesses that used to advertise with them during their late night programs have cancelled their advertising contracts with the program. However, on basis of this we can not directly conclude that the cause of the cancellation is lack of time being devoted to weather and local news. There can be many other possibilities for this such as; the said news program might not be popular enough anymore or the advertising agencies might have found a better news program to advertise their products on. It might also be possible that the advertising agencies do not have the sufficient funds rights now to continue advertising on any news program. Hence, in these cases restoring time devoted to weather and local news would do no good for the news program. A clear survey needs to be taken from the advertising agencies to understand the reason for withdrawal of their contracts.

Therefore, the business manager needs to clearly analyze the type and category of complaints being received and check if they are regarding less time being devoted to weather and local news and also compare the number of complaints received before and after changing the time devoted to weather and local news. A clear survey from advertising agencies needs to be taken to pinpoint the exact reasons for withdrawal of contracts which will further strengthen the business manager's argument.